VDS RULES & GUIDE

AFFILIATED CLUBS

KNOX OFFROAD RADIO CONTROLLED CAR CLB

KEILOR OFFROAD RC CAR ASSOCIATION

MILDURA RC OFFROAD CAR CLUB

WODONGA RC CAR CLUB

SERIES GUIDE

Victorian Drivers Series is a four round series that incorporates the four clubs named above and is raced for the benefit of the Victorian clubs and members.

To be eligible for the series point and trophies the competitor must be a financial member of one of the four clubs before they can receive points but a person that is not a member may compete but will not be eligible for series points or series trophy at end of series.

Series will be best 3 of 4 rounds or if an event is not able to be run then best 2 out of 3 will be next decision. Only applies if a rerun cannot take place by the affected club for their round.

The series will be adopting the rule set for racing from AARCMCC which can be found here:

http://www.aarcmcc.org/downloads.html

With these additions

21.5 2wd FDR of 6.0 (using 2wd stock rules)

2wd stock to use AARCMCC control motor

4wd stock to use AARCMCC control motor

4wd 13.5 stock open motor weight limit lifted to 1700 grams

No cross entry between 17.5 4wd and 13.5 4wd or modified

(Only 2wd Stock + 4wd (17.5 or 13.5)

All other classes as per AARCMCC rules

SCHEDULE OF EVENTS

The event should be run at the most appropriated time of year that suits the host club which should consider weather and other factors like times of the year that may inhibit entries or the ability of running the event.

RERUNS should have a minimum of one month in between events and only conceder the Victorian calendar as dates will most certainly clash.

Last event to be early November to allow for rerun if needed.

Cancellations should be notified as early as possible.

Racing will be 3 rounds of qualifying and finals for all competitors giving that time permits or 2 rounds of qualifying to start on Saturday.

REPRESENTATIVES

Each club will have a representative for the series this will be the president as default or a person appointed by the club.

RACING CLASSES

- 1. Junior 2wd 17.5 ~ control motor
- 2. 21.5 2wd fixed ~ FDR 6.0
- 3. 2wd stock 17.5 AARCMCC ~ control motor
- 4. 4wd stock 17.5 AARCMCC ~ control motor + Min1600 grams
- 5. 13.5 stock Open motor weight limit ~ Min 1700 grams
- 6. 2wd modified
- 7. 4wd modified
- 8. Stadium Truck 2wd modified

4wd 17.5 and 13.5 cannot cross enter with each other.

Only one 4wd stock class may be chosen to run in the stock class.

RACE FEES

First class \$25.00 Second class \$15.00 Third class \$15.00

RACING FORMAT

The following points provide guidance for how a Drivers Series Round should be conducted:

- 1. 1.The track should be open for practise on Saturday until one hour before 1st round qualifying for club to do any track work that may be needed.
- 2. The track will be open for 30 minutes' practice on Sunday morning (7am 7:30am) for those drivers who could not make the Saturday practice and qualifying (unless there is standing water on the track, in which case the host club may announce that the track is closed). The track will be closed at 7:30am sharp for the drivers meeting.
- 3. A drivers meeting will be held at 7:30. All drivers to bring cars for a photo and the race format for the day will be officially announced.
- 4. First race to start at 8am.
- 5. If the number of drivers in a class is 12 or less, they are to be combined into one heat (assuming the drivers stand can accommodate them). If there are more than 12 drivers, they are to be split into 2 heats.
- 6. The default format is 3 qualifiers and 3 finals with staggered starts (as per AARCMCC rules).
- 7. Grid positions random for round 1 then based on finishing position i8n the previous round from then on.
- 8. The 2 best qualifying round points count with the fastest time used in the event of a tiebreak.
- 9. Races are to be 5 minutes' duration with 2 minutes in between them.
- 10. The host club will determine whether there is time to include breaks between rounds for track work. A 30-minute lunch break is recommended.
- 11. If the projected race time finish is after 5pm, the format for the day should be shortened to 2 qualifiers (with staggered starts) and 3 finals. This includes:
- 12. Grid positions random for round 1 then based on finishing position for round 2.
- 13. No re-grade.
- 14. Single best qualifying round points to count with the fastest time used in the event of a tiebreak.
- 15. Race format for the event to be finalised by the host club before and advertised to suit the clubs position ref to entries numbers, weather, etc. NOT TO BE CHANGED FOR OTHER EVENTS.

In the event of a substantial delay on the race day (i.e. computer failure) the format can be changed with the consent of the VDS representatives.

<u>SEEDING</u>

Seeding will be as per the final result from the previous year race results for the first round then be from the current points standing for the year that is being run.

MARSHALLING PENALTIES

Competitors, including their designated substitute, who are not in their marked marshalling location 30 seconds prior to the start of the heat/race will be penalised by the loss of their best qualifying result for the Championship / event and the issuing of an official warning to that competitor.

Competitors, including their designated substitute, who perform repair or maintenance on a car whilst marshalling, will be penalised by the loss of their best qualifying result for the Championship/event and issued an official warning to that competitor.

PRESENTATION TROPHYS

All four clubs will pay ¼ of the cost of trophies for the end of series presentation.

Each club is responsible for the trophies for their own round of the series.

Allocation of points for the Round

- Maximum points per event will be 20.
- 20pts for 1st place Winner, 19pts for 2nd place, and 18pts for 3rd, etc.
- 1 will give a point for the Top Qualifiers (TQ)
- If competitors are tied, the total points will sort by the either the last event result or the next best result.